Oregon’s Newest Distracted Driving Law

/Oregon’s Newest Distracted Driving Law

Oregon’s Newest Distracted Driving Law

2017-11-15T17:16:20+00:00 October 1st, 2017|

House Bill 2597 revises Oregon’s hands-free law. The new law prohibits drivers from using any function of devices that require holding or touching. The law applies to mobile electronic devices of any kind, including cellphones, tablets, laptops and GPS units.

Effective Oct. 1st of 2017, a first offense comes with a max fine of $1000. A second offense, or a first offense that contributes to a crash, comes with a max fine of $2500, while a third violation within 10 years could be a misdemeanor with a fine of up to $2,500 and six months of jail time.

Learn More